User Permissions & Restricting Access

Grant user access, safely—from HR to executives to leaders—with our user permission settings.

To become more data-driven, you need data. However, it's important to ensure that data is shared safely and appropriately for a number of reasons. Our user permission settings allow you to restrict data appropriately based on your user needs.

This article will outline:

  • How user permission work within Knoetic
  • How to create a new user
  • How to edit an existing user's access
  • How to remove a user's access

User Permission Overview

There are two important layers in our user permissions settings:

Access Level ("The Who")

Based on hierarchy within the organization. There are four tiers within Access Level:

  1. Full: This user can see all employee data with no restrictions
  2. Restricted (Self): This user can see their own direct and indirect reports.
    Ideal for business leaders who oversee specific functions.
  3. Restricted (Custom): This user can see the direct and indirect reports of a leader or leaders.
    Ideal for HRBPs and People Partners who assist with specific leader's teams.
  4. Guest: View-only and limited access to designated shared reports. An overview of the Guest user experience.

Coming Soon: Field Restrictions ("The What")

Further restrictions to a user's access levels allow you to block or show any standard or custom data field. If a field is restricted, it will not appear as a field, filter, or value option for the restricted user.

For example: I want to give my Engineering Director access to their team's data, but I hide Gender & Ethnicity field values.

⭐️ Note: This functionality is only available to a select group of clients; our team will let you know when it's available for you!

Creating a New User (Access Level Only)

Below are steps for creating a new user for your account solely based on Access level.

Note: Only designated Admins can create new user accounts. You can see who your admins are in your User Settings.

  1. Log into Knoetic and visit Settings
  2. Navigate to the Users tab
  3. Click "Add User"
  4. Search and select the employee you're giving access to
  5. Define their Access Level (see "User Permission Overview" in top section for details!)
    1. If Restricted (Custom), add the leaders they should have access to
  6. Click "Confirm User"—that's it!

Editing an Existing User (Access Level Only)

Below are steps for editing details or Access Level for an existing user.

Note: Only designated Admins can edit existing user accounts. You can see who your admins are in your User Settings.

  1. Log into Knoetic and visit Settings
  2. Navigate to the Users tab
  3. Click on the user from the row that you'd like to edit
  4. Click "Edit User"
  5. Follow the prompts to edit any details related to their account or Access Level
    1. If Restricted (Custom), add the leaders they should have access to
  6. Click "Confirm User"—that's it!

Removing a User

Below are steps for removing an existing user's access from Knoetic.

Note: Only designated Admins can remove existing user accounts. You can see who your admins are in your User Settings.

  1. Log into Knoetic and visit Settings
  2. Navigate to the Users tab
  3. Click on the user from the row that you'd like to remove
  4. Click "Deactivate User"
  5. Click "Confirm" when prompted—that's it!


How did we do?


Powered by HelpDocs (opens in a new tab)